Creative Writing

My thoughts have been consumed with negativity the last couple days and this helped me focus on something other than those thoughts. I didn’t want to meditate about it. I didn’t want to psychoanalyze it. I finding that at times those things actually compound my problem. So I thought I’d give some creative writing a try. I found a couple websites with creative writing exercises.

http://writetodone.com/10-best-creative-writing-exercises/

http://thinkwritten.com/365-creative-writing-prompts/

The second one offers an exercise for every day of the year which I thought was pretty cool. I thought I’d share what I came up with.

1. Outside the window – describe the weather outside:

The weather outside is seasonally fresh and crisp. A well timed gust of wind pushes through the steady air with the force of a commuter train. It shoves its way past deeply rooted trees, disturbing their otherwise sleeping leaves.

2.  7>7>7 : Find the 7th book from the bookshelf. Open it to page 7. Look at the 7th sentence on the page. Begin a poem that starts with that sentence and limit the length to 7 lines.

Color does not work that way. You cannot make

BRIGHT RED

Look gray. Why would you want to anyway?

 

I’m adding this exercise to my sober toolbox. It’s a great way to redirect my mind off whatever is nagging me.

 

 

 

One comment

  1. Mark David Goodson · January 1

    Awesome prompts. Thank you! Will steal for he next time I can carve out some writing time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

