Nacho Average Diet

*UPDATE* The only thing verifiably true in this post is that my friend is struggling to lose weight despite working out like a maniac, and we should all try the nacho diet. Thank you.

I read recently that during the time we are actively drinking everything we eat gets immediately turned into fat. Meaning, there’s no burning off process. Even if you’re out on the town dancing the night away all those calories are being stored as fat. The science behind it is that alcohol gets split into two compounds when we consume it: fat and acetate. The fat is taken into the bloodstream and stored in our least favorite places. The acetate is used as fuel. Usually our bodies use calories/carbs as fuel. However, that isn’t happening while we’re drinking alcohol.

The other downside to how we metabolize alcohol is that it increases a hormone in our body, cortisol, which causes the body to breakdown muscle in order to increase blood sugar to the brain. It does this because alcohol makes our blood sugar levels drop. All of this made me think of a good friend of mine who  is extremely active and eats healthy; lots of sushi and fish. He kills himself doing 90 minutes of Bikram yoga a couple times a weeks, playing tennis weekly, skiing on weekends, he skateboards, you name it.  Yet, he can’t get rid of his extra layers of fat. He drinks vodka on the rocks thinking it’s a good zero calorie drink. In a way, I suppose he’s saving the added calories a mai-tia might bring to the table. However, if he continues to drink nightly he’ll also continue to negate his workouts.

One would think that this information would be more out in the open, right? I mean, so many people go on cleanses thinking it works because they drank 100% juice for a week, or 100% greens for a week, etc. I find the common theme in these cleanses is no alcohol. It’s why you hear people say “I can’t drink tonight. I’m on a cleanse.” The reality is that omitting alcohol is what makes people have so much clarity, lose a few pounds, increased energy, improved skin tone, etc. Then of course they go back to drinking when the cleanse is over and feel like crap again. Anybody could market a cleanse. Heck, I could. I could start the nachos cleanse. Eat nothing but nachos for a week and you’ll feel great! And it would work because people would also give up booze and be duped into thinking an all nacho diet is amazing!

Pssh…the lies we tell ourselves. If you guys see a book called “Nacho average diet” you’ll know it came from me.

 

19 comments

  1. I Quit Wineing · January 4

    I am two months sober and have yet to see the scales drop. It is frustrating because after having consumed a bottle of wine every night for seven nights a week you would think the weight would drop off. I guess my body knows what it is doing. Hopefully. I try not to focus on weight loss. I am battling the addictions and sometimes that means chocolate. So be it!

    Liked by 3 people

    • truthbetold1111 · January 5

      Without even seeing you I can guarantee you look and feel better! It does take a while for our bodies to even out after quitting. Sometimes I think I have permanent brain damage. But hey, as long as we have chocolate, all is right in the world!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I Quit Wineing · January 5

        You and me both!

        Liked by 1 person

    • ainsobriety · January 5

      It took my husband into year 3 to lose any weight.
      He looked better and felt better, but the weight refused to leave.

      I’d stay far away from the scale until you have been sober for a year. Seriously.

      Liked by 3 people

      • truthbetold1111 · January 5

        I’ve been considering getting rid of my scale, and I do mean that seriously. I want to listen to my body and I can’t do that while looking at a scale.

        Liked by 1 person

      • truthbetold1111 · January 5

        I also need to stop the cycle of negative thoughts and those start before I even step on the damn thing.

        Like

      • ainsobriety · January 5

        I had to get rid of mine.
        I have never been able to see it as a number. It always impacts me.
        It’s liberating.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hurrahforcoffee · January 5

        Yes!!!

        Like

      • I Quit Wineing · January 5

        Thank you 😘

        Like

  2. ainsobriety · January 5

    I don’t think it’s quite that simple.
    I was quite fit and extremely low body fat while drinking heavily. I rarely ate…and was a severely disordered eater…but the booze only becomes fat in a calorie excess.

    I have gained weight in sobriety. I’m an average person now… lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hurrahforcoffee · January 5

    I’m signing up for the Nacho diet, sounds delicious!. My previous attempts of getting sober I really focussed on the weight thing. My weight didn’t budge, think I’ve reached my body’s ‘set point’ and I also had disordered eating for a very long time so my body is shit scared to lose weight. Ii might shift it eventually but I think my body needs to trust me to look after it, at this point I think my body is a scared little animal cowering in the corner wondering what else I can inflict on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shehidbehindtheglass · January 5

    Yessss!!! Bring on the nacho diet, that sounds fantastic!! I ❤ nachos 😀 😀
    I read the same information yesterday but it was on a "personal trainer" person's blog and she included some really nasty comments about recovering alcoholics so I was too bitchy about that to let the other info really sink in. It is interesting though! I have gained weight since I quit drinking, but I feel better! My face has changed a bit too – not as puffy anymore (2+ months in).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. truthbetold1111 · January 5

    I guess we can whittle it down to “if it sounds to good to be true…”. I’m sure there’s some science behind it but then again, maybe someone just made it up and it’s being regurgitated by people like me. Haha! I’ve gained weight too. I suddenly can’t get enough food in my body. I walk around saying “Get in my belly!”. I kinda like food more than booze now. Mmm. Food.

    Like

  6. truthbetold1111 · January 5

    Why would anyone include nasty comments about recovering alcoholics? Sheesh! Do you hear that sucking noise? That’s her because she sucks out loud.

    Like

Leave a Reply

